ASU to Honor Governor with Honorary Doctor of Laws

JONESBORO, AR - Arkansas State University will award the honorary Doctor of Laws degree to Governor Mike Beebe Saturday in recognition of "his outstanding achievements and exemplary public service to the people of Arkansas."

The presentation will be made Saturday during the first of two spring commencement ceremonies at the Convocation Center, which begins at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m.

Beebe, a Jackson County native, graduated from ASU in 1968 with a bachelor of science degree in political science.

Beebe becomes the 13th person to receive an honorary doctorate from ASU.  The first was U.S. Senator Hattie Caraway in 1934.