Six SeMo Communities Receive Rural Grant Monies

DEXTER, MO - Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns has announced the award of $9.2 million in Community Facilities grants to improve public safety, health care and educational services in rural communities, and six communities in southeast Missouri will see part of that money, including Charleston, Malden, Eminence, Campbell, East Prarie and Clarkton.  Also, the Mississippi County Commission and the Mississippi Co. Rescue Squad will also benefit.

Community Facilities grants help finance essential public services in rural areas, such as schools, libraries, child care, hospitals, court houses, fire and rescue facilities and equipment, police and emergency vehicles, police stations, community centers and other community focused facilities and services.