Drought Funds Now Available for Seven Region 8 Counties

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Seven Arkansas counties near the state's border with Missouri have been named natural disaster areas as they suffer through a drought that began April 4 and continues.

Farmers and ranchers in Clay, Craighead, Fulton, Greene, Mississippi, Randolph and Sharp counties can apply for low-interest emergency loans from the U.S. Department of Agriculture's Farm Service Agency.  Applicants have eight months to apply for the loans.

The agency made the declaration October 29.

(Copyright 2007 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)