Beebe Names Three Region 8 Residents to Yellow Ribbon Task Force

LITTLE ROCK, AR (KAIT) - Governor Mike Beebe today announced the 19 Arkansans who will comprise the Arkansas Yellow Ribbon Task Force.  The Task Force will focus on addressing issues faced by veterans returning from deployment overseas and aging veterans with increasing health needs.

"These volunteers recognize that while we've gotten better at coordinating the services our men and women in uniform need, there is still more to be done," Beebe said.  "By sitting down together, members of this Task Force will share their specialties and ideas to identify ways that we can better serve all our veterans."

Three members of the Task Force are from Region 8.  They include...

-State Representative David Cook of Williford.  Cook is also a veteran.

-David Fletcher of Monette.  Fletcher currently serves as director as the Arkansas Dept. of Veterans Affairs.  He is also a former mayor of Monette.

-Dr. Joann Kirchner of Heber Springs.   Kirchner is affiliated with the South Central Mental Illness Research, Education and Clinical Center.

The governor's office has coordinated with Congressman John Boozman's office in developing the Task Force to coordinate services and outreach groups assisting Arkansas military personnel.  The first meeting of the Task Force is set for July 29 at the state capitol.