Firefighting Crews Battle Nine Blazes in Eight Counties

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Another nine wildfires have had to be put out in Arkansas as the hot and dry weather continues.  The state Forestry Commission said yesterday that the fires were in eight counties...Cleveland, Grant, Sebastian, Saline, Lafayette, Ouachita, Pope and Yell.

Five of those counties are among the 28 in the state with burn bans in force.

The counties that have banned outdoor burning are Ashley, Chicot, Clark, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Crawford, Dallas, Drew, Faulkner, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lincoln, Miller, Nevada, Ouachita, Perry, Polk, Pulaski, Saline, Sebastian, Sevier and Union.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press.  All Rights Reserved.)