Beebe Declares 5 More Counties Disasters After Ike

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Gov. Mike Beebe has declared five more states disaster areas because of damage caused by the remnants of Hurricane Ike. Beebe's declaration brings the total number of counties declared state disasters to 20.

Saturday, Beebe added Craighead, Lawrence, Madison, Newton and Saline counties to the list of state disaster declarations. The declaration makes it easier for cities to coordinate with the Arkansas Department of Emergency Management and other state agencies on response and relief efforts.

State emergency officials are now determining whether Arkansas will qualify for federal assistance because of Ike. President Bush has already approved federal assistance for 18 Arkansas counties after the remnants of Hurricane Gustav caused widespread flooding.

(Copyright 2008 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)