BREAKING: President Obama Declares Major Disaster for Arkansas

WASHINGTON (KAIT) - President Obama has declared a major disaster in Arkansas.

The 23 counties covered by the federal declaration include Baxter, Benton, Boone, Carroll, Clay, Craighead, Franklin, Fulton, Greene, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Johnson, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Mississippi, Newton, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren and Washington.  Conway and Cross Counties were included in Governor Beebe's request but did not meet the requirements to be included in the federal declaration.  Additional counties will be added to the State's request as damage assessments continue.

The full details, including Governor Beebe's response, is on right now.