Dickey Nutt named SEMO University Head Coach

CAPE GIRARDEAU, Mo., - Dickey Nutt the former head men's basketball coach at Arkansas State University, has been named the new men's head basketball coach at Southeast Missouri State University.

Southeast Athletic Director John Shafer introduced Nutt at a news conference today at the Show Me Center.

Nutt coached 13 seasons at Arkansas State with an overall record of 189-186 and coached ASU to the Sun Belt Conference West Division title in 2007. During his years at ASU, he planned, directed and administered all areas of the basketball program, including budgeting, recruiting, team travel, scholarships and equipment. He is the second winningest coach in Arkansas State history. He is also the second winningest coach in the Sun Belt Conference, second only to legendary University of Alabama at Birmingham Coach Gene Bartow. Nutt led Arkansas State to their first-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament in 1999 after leading ASU to the Sun Belt Tournament championship in the same season. ASU also won the Sun Belt Tournament championship in 1997-1998, when Nutt was named National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) District 9 Coach of the Year, an honor he repeated again in the following season, 1998-1999. Nutt also led ASU to the Sun Belt Conference Championship in 1997-1998.

Nutt has coached 11 All-Sun Belt Conference players and five Sun Belt Conference All-Tournament players. He coached the Sun Belt Conference Player of the Year in 1998 and 1999, the conference's Defensive Player of the Year in 1999 and its Newcomer of the Year in 2007. He was honored by the Sun Belt Conference in 2005 for surpassing 150 career wins.

Nutt was selected to serve on the Congress of the NABC in 2004. He led ASU to the 25th ranking in 2003 by CollegeInsider.com as a Mid-Major Top 25 after a 3-0 start.

He served as ASU's assistant men's basketball coach from 1987-1995, assistant men's basketball coach at Oklahoma State University from 1985-1987 and assistant boys' basketball coach at Stillwater (Okla.) High School from 1982-1985.