Wooden candidates announced

LOS ANGELES (AP) - Kentucky's Jodie Meeks, Louisville's Terrence Williams and Memphis guard Tyreke Evans are among the finalists for the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball's player of the year.

Women's candidates include Alysha Clark of Middle Tennessee State and Angel McCoughtry of Louisville.

The final ballots were announced Thursday.

Meeks is the Southeastern Conference's leading scorer. Williams is a 41.9% 3-point shooter in the Big East. Evans is Conference USA Freshman of the Year and was the only freshman selected as a finalist.

Clark is the leading scorer in women's Division I basketball, and McCoughtry is the Big East's defensive player of the year.

Copyright 2009 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.