State releases scores for medical marijuana dispensaries

State releases scores for medical marijuana dispensaries
(Source: KSPR-TV)

LITTLE ROCK, AR (KAIT/KARK) - The state of Arkansas released the scores that will determine which companies will receive licenses to sell medical marijuana.

According to a report from Little Rock NBC affiliate KARK, a meeting of the Medical Marijuana Commission that was scheduled for Wednesday to announce the rankings was delayed.

Scott Hardin, spokesperson for the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, said the delay was to give newly-appointed commissioners time to get up to speed on the commission's operations and Public Consulting Group, the company that scored the application, a chance to attend.

KARK reports that the station filed a Freedom of Information request to get the scores of the applications.

KARK reports that the Alcoholic Beverage Control division did not calculate the bonus points correctly.

If a company received the point would need to be multiplied by five due to the five reviewers.

After doing the calculations, KARK came up with the following ranking per zone:

Zone 1:

  • Acanza Health Group
  • Valentine Holdings, LLC
  • Arkansas Medicinal Source Patient Center
  • The Releaf Center

Zone 2:

  • Fiddler's Green
  • Plant Family Therapeutics
  • Big Fish of North Central Arkansas
  • Arkansas Green Cross Cannabis Dispensary

Zone 3:

  • Valentine Holdings, LLC
  • Grassroots OPCO
  • THC RX, Inc.
  • Natural State Wellness Dispensary

Zone 4:

  • Valentine Holdings, LLC
  • Natural State Wellness Dispensary
  • JPS Management, LLC
  • River Valley Dispensary

Zone 5:

  • Harvest
  • Grassroots OPCO
  • Natural State Wellness Dispensary
  • Naturalis Health

Zone 6:

  • Green Springs Medical
  • Native Green Wellness Center
  • Green Remedies Group
  • Doctors Orders RX

Zone 7:

  • Acanza Health Group
  • Natural State Wellness Dispensary
  • PainFree RX
  • Delta Cultivators

Zone 8:

  • Grassroots OPCO
  • Noah's Ark, LLC
  • Bloom Medicinals of AR, LLC
  • RX MEX

The makeup of the zone are the following counties:

  • Zone 1: Benton, Carroll, Madison, and Washington
  • Zone 2: Baxter, Boone, Cleburne, Fulton, Izard, Marion, Newton, Searcy, Stone, and Van Buren
  • Zone 3: Clay, Craighead, Crittenden, Cross, Greene, Independence, Jackson, Lawrence, Mississippi, Poinsett, Randolph, Sharp, St. Francis, and Woodruff
  • Zone 4: Conway, Crawford, Franklin, Johnson, Logan, Pope, Sebastian, and Yell
  • Zone 5: Faulkner, Lonoke, Pulaski, and White
  • Zone 6: Garland, Grant, Hot Spring, Montgomery, Perry, Polk, Saline, and Scott
  • Zone 7: Arkansas, Ashley, Bradley, Chicot, Cleveland, Desha, Drew, Jefferson, Lee, Lincoln, Monroe, Phillips, and Prairie
  • Zone 8: Calhoun, Clark, Columbia, Dallas, Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Sevier, and Union

According to KARK, several companies scored in the top four in multiple zones. Those companies will have to pick one of the zones at which time the 5th place group in the other zones will get a license.

"The scores are not final and have not been reviewed or approved by the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission," Hardin said in a news release.

The release went on to say that the scores do not guarantee a license will be provided to the top four scorers. The scores will be discussed a meeting on Jan. 9, 2019.

Copyright 2018 KAIT. All rights reserved.