Razorback great Darren McFadden selected to College Football Hall of Fame

Razorback great Darren McFadden selected to College Football Hall of Fame
McFadden was twice named a runner-up for the Heisman Trophy while playing in Fayetteville.

Press Release from National Football Foundation

The National Football Foundation (NFF) & College Hall of Fame announced today the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class, which includes the names of 13 First Team All-America players and two standout coaches. The inductees were selected from the national ballot of 76 All-America players and six elite coaches from the Football Bowl Subdivision and the 100 players and 32 coaches from the divisional ranks.



  • TERRELL BUCKLEY – DB, Florida State (1989-91)
  • RICKEY DIXON – DB, Oklahoma (1984-87)
  • LONDON FLETCHER – LB, John Carroll [OH] (1995-97)
  • JACOB GREEN – DL, Texas A&M (1977-79)
  • TORRY HOLT – WR, North Carolina State (1995-98)
  • RAGHIB ISMAIL – KR/WR, Notre Dame (1988-90)
  • DARREN McFADDEN – RB, Arkansas (2005-07)
  • JAKE PLUMMER – QB, Arizona State (1993-96)
  • TROY POLAMALU – DB, Southern California (1999-2002)
  • JOE THOMAS – OL, Wisconsin (2003-06)
  • LORENZO WHITE – RB, Michigan State (1984-87)
  • PATRICK WILLIS – LB, Mississippi (2003-06)
  • VINCE YOUNG – QB, Texas (2003-05)


  • DENNIS ERICKSON – 179-96-1 (65.0%); Idaho (1982-85, 2006), Wyoming (1986), Washington State (1987-88), Miami [FL] (1989-94), Oregon State (1999-2002), Arizona State (2007-11)
  • JOE TAYLOR – 233-96-4 (70.6%); Howard (1983), Virginia Union (1984-91), Hampton (1992-2007), Florida A&M (2008-12)

“We are extremely proud to announce the 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class,” said Archie Manning, NFF Chairman and a 1989 College Football Hall of Famer from Mississippi. “Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments. The Class will be part of a momentous year as we celebrate the 150th anniversary of college football this season.”The announcement of the 2019 Class was made today live on ESPN’s “SportsCenter” from Santa Clara, California, the site of the College Football Playoff (CFP) National Championship, which will be played tonight at Levi’s Stadium between No. 1 Alabama (14-0) and No. 2 Clemson (14-0). Raghib “Rocket” Ismail appeared live during the telecast for the announcement, representing the class and sharing his thoughts on induction. Ismail will be joined tonight by Patrick Willis, participating in the coin toss on the field during the championship game. The tradition of announcing the College Football Hall of Fame class in conjunction with the CFP National Championship began in 2015 before the inaugural CFP title game in Dallas. The 2019 College Football Hall of Fame Class will be officially inducted during the 62nd NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 10, 2019, at the New York Hilton Midtown. The inductees will also be recognized at their respective collegiate institutions with NFF Hall of Fame On-Campus Salutes, presented by Fidelity Investments, during the fall. Their accomplishments will be forever immortalized at the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.


University of Arkansas Running Back, 2005-07

One of the most decorated players in both Arkansas and SEC history, Darren McFadden twice claimed the Doak Walker Award as the best running back in the nation. The Razorbacks' all-time leading rusher becomes the ninth player in school history to be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame. A two-time First Team All-American, “Run DMC” earned consensus honors in 2006 and unanimous recognition in 2007 while finishing as the Heisman Trophy runner-up both seasons. The 2007 Walter Camp Player of the Year and Sporting News Player of the Year, he won back-to-back Doak Walker Awards in 2006 and 2007 to join Hall of Famer Ricky Williams (Texas) as the only two-time recipients of the award. A two-time SEC Offensive Player of the Year, McFadden is the Razorbacks all-time leader with 4,590 career rushing yards and 5,881 career all-purpose yards, which both rank second in conference history. The three-time First Team All-SEC selection led Arkansas to the 2006 SEC Western Division title, two bowl berths and a No. 15 final ranking in 2006. McFadden also earned First Team All-America honors as a kick returner in 2006 while finishing as a finalist for the 2006 Walter Camp and 2007 Maxwell Award. McFadden also owns Arkansas career records for rushing attempts (785) and 100-yard rushing games (22) while sitting second all-time with 41 rushing touchdowns. He owns the two-highest single-season rushing totals (1,830 in 2007, 1,647 in 2006) and single-season all-purpose yard totals (2,310 in 2007, 2,058 in 2006) in school annals. The only Razorback to ever gain 2,000 all-purpose yards in a season, his 2,310 in 2007 rank fourth all-time in SEC history. A First Team Freshman All-American and the 2005 SEC Freshman of the Year, McFadden is one of only three players in conference history to rush for 1,000 yards in his freshman, sophomore and junior seasons. His 120.8 rushing yards per game during his career are third all-time in SEC annals while his 321 rushing yards against South Carolina in 2007 remain tied for a single-game conference record. Chosen as the fourth overall pick by the Oakland Raiders in the 2008 NFL Draft, McFadden played 10 seasons in the league for the Raiders (2008-14) and the Dallas Cowboys (2015-17). A stalwart in the community, McFadden has volunteered for events with the Make-A-Wish Foundation, Salvation Army, Special Olympics and Texas Scottish Rite Hospital. The Little Rock, Arkansas, native also visits local hospitals and helped with disaster relief in North Dallas, where he now lives after retiring from the NFL. A member of the State of Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame, McFadden was named an SEC Football Legend in 2018.

Copyright 2019 KAIT. All rights reserved.