JONESBORO, Ark (KAIT) -Medical marijuana products may be burning up the road soon.
According to an article by Talk Business and Politics, the Arkansas Medical Marijuana Commission recently approved rules to transport medical marijuana products.
However, the state legislature and governor must also approve them before it can go into effect.
Communications Director for the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration Scott Hardin said third-party transportation rules are expected to be approved over the next 30 to 40 days.
Once this happens, the commission can start accepting applications from companies looking to receive a license to transport products.
Three to five dispensaries are expected to open over the next month. Because the rules will not likely be in place by then, the cultivators will deliver the first medical marijuana products to the dispensaries.
If passed, these rules will allow licensed third-party companies to transport the products throughout the state.
Each company will be required to pay a $5,000 application fee and have a $100,000 performance bond. The companies will also pay $5,000 annually to renew their license.
Two employees are required to be in the vehicle transporting the medical marijuana products. The vehicle must also be unmarked, with an alarm system. The products must be transported during the dispensary’s regular business hours and the products cannot be held for more than 24 hours.
Hardin believes the state will have between 10 to 15 transportation companies.