White House task force still seeing ‘red’ in Northeast Arkansas

Updated: Nov. 4, 2020 at 10:13 AM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

JONESBORO, Ark. (KAIT) - The latest White House Coronavirus Task Force report reveals numerous towns and counties in Northeast Arkansas, including Craighead and Greene, lead the state in cases of COVID-19.

The state recorded 6,739 new cases in the week ending Nov. 1. That’s a 2% increase from the previous week. According to the report, Arkansas had 223 new cases per 100,000 population. The national average is 165 per 100,000.

Currently, 75% of all counties have moderate or high levels of community transmission, with 27% having high levels of community transmission (red zone).

Towns in the red zone include:

  • Jonesboro
  • Texarkana
  • Paragould
  • Blytheville
  • Mountain Home
  • Helena-West Helena
  • El Dorado
  • Camden

Counties in the red zone include:

  • Craighead
  • Greene
  • Mississippi
  • Miller
  • Poinsett
  • Jackson
  • Lawrence
  • Baxter
  • Phillips
  • Arkansas
  • Sevier
  • Union

The task force proposed several recommendations, including limiting restaurant indoor capacity to less than 50% and restricting hours until cases and test positivity decrease.

It also recommended that masks be worn in all public places and at gatherings with people living outside a household.

“Stop gatherings beyond immediate household until cases and test positivity decrease significantly,” it stated.

To read the full report, including the task force’s recommendations, click here.

Copyright 2020 KAIT. All rights reserved.