Marquis Eaton & Caleb Fields named to Preseason All-Sun Belt Basketball Team

Marquis Eaton & Caleb Fields named to Preseason All-Sun Belt Basketball Team
Arkansas State freshman guard Caleb Fields squares up for a 3 pointer in the January 3rd matchup vs. Texas State. (Source: KAIT)

With the 2020-21 season two weeks away, the Sun Belt Conference released its preseason All-Conference teams Wednesday, which included Arkansas State men’s basketball guards Marquis Eaton and Caleb Fields.

Eaton was voted Preseason Second Team All-Sun Belt Conference while Fields was selected Preseason Third Team All-Sun Belt Conference by the league’s coaches. This marks the first time A-State has had two preseason All-Conference picks since the 2013-14 season (Brandon Reed and Ed Townsel).

A third team all-conference pick last season, Eaton was among 14 players nationally to average at least 13.0 points, 3.0 rebounds, 2.5 assists and 1.0 steals while committing fewer than 2.0 turnovers per game. Eaton averaged 16.0 points per game in conference play to rank fifth in the league. He had seven league outings with 20 or more points, including a career high 28 points at Louisiana. Eaton enters his senior season 20 points shy of becoming the 29th player in program history to score 1,000 points. Eaton has averaged 10.2 points, 2.7 rebounds, 2.6 assists and 1.1 steals over his 96 games played for A-State.

Fields is coming off an impressive freshman campaign as he became the third freshman in program history to log 100 or more assists and the seventh freshman to average double figures. Fields was one of five Division I freshmen to finish the season averaging at least 11.0 points, 3.0 rebounds, 3.0 assists and fewer than 2.0 turnovers per game. The second-leading scorer on the team, Fields averaged 11.1 points while shooting 38.9 percent from the field. He dished out 110 assists against 59 turnovers while playing 32.5 minutes per game.

Arkansas State men’s basketball was picked fourth in the Sun Belt Conference’s West Division as voted on by the league’s 12 head coaches, the league office announced Thursday.

The divisional poll is released with the conference shifting to a division-only schedule for the 2020-21 season. Little Rock was picked to win the division followed by Louisiana and UT Arlington. Texas State was selected fifth while ULM rounds out the division. In the overall poll, A-State was selected to finish ninth behind Georgia Southern.

On the East side, Georgia State was picked to win, followed by South Alabama. Coastal Carolina, Appalachian State, Georgia Southern and Troy round out the division. The Sun Belt Conference Tournament is March 5-8 in Pensacola, Fla. All 12 teams will advance to the tournament with the top two teams in each division earning a first-round bye.

The Red Wolves return two starts, preseason All-Sun Belt selections Marquis Eaton and Caleb Fields, from the 2019-20 squad that finished with a 16-16 record. Fourth-year head coach Mike Balado and A-State return four letterwinners and adds eight newcomers along with two players who redshirted last season.

A-State is scheduled to open the 2020-21 season Wednesday, Nov. 25 against Jackson State at the Justin Reed Ole Miss Classic in Oxford, Miss. The home opener is scheduled for Friday, Dec. 4 against Crowley’s Ridge College at First National Bank Arena. For the latest on A-State men’s basketball, follow the team on Twitter (@AStateMB), Facebook (/AStateMB) and Instagram (@astatemb).

2020-21 Sun Belt Preseason Coaches Poll


1. Little Rock – 140 (9)

2. Georgia State – 131 (1)

3. Louisiana – 106 (1)

4. South Alabama – 98

5. UT Arlington – 87 (1)

6. Coastal Carolina – 86

7. Appalachian State – 79

8. Georgia Southern – 55

9. Arkansas State – 49

10. Texas State – 47

11. ULM – 35

12. Troy – 22

East Division

1. Georgia State

2. South Alabama

3. Coastal Carolina

4. Appalachian State

5. Georgia Southern

6. Troy

West Division

1. Little Rock

2. Louisiana

3. UT Arlington

4. Arkansas State

5. Texas State

6. ULM

2020-21 Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference

First Team

Ruot Monyyong – Little Rock

Markquis Nowell – Little Rock

Justin Forrest – Appalachian State

Kane Williams – Georgia State

DeVante Jones - Coastal Carolina

Second Team

Marquis Eaton – Arkansas State

David Azore – UT Arlington

Mylik Wilson – Louisiana

Elijah McCadden – Georgia Southern

Justin Roberts – Georgia State

Third Team

Caleb Fields – Arkansas State

Cedric Russell – Louisiana

Michael Flowers – South Alabama

Ben Coupet Jr. – Little Rock

Zack Bryant – Georgia Southern

Copyright 2020 KAIT. All rights reserved.