Billy Joe Murray, Jesse Mason among 2021 class of Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame

Former Earle basketball coach Billy Murray enshrined into Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (KAIT) - The Arkansas Sports Hall of Fame held their 2021 enshrinement ceremony over the weekend.

Some players & coaches with NEA connections got the call to the hall.

Billy Joe Murray won 7 state championships as a high school basketball coach. 6 of them were on the sidelines at Earle. The Bulldogs won it all in 2008, 2010, 2012, 2016, 2017, & 2018.

Jesse Mason is a SWAC & UAPB Hall of Famer. The Marion native played for the Golden Lions from 1956-60. Mason was a three-time All-SWAC selection and led the conference in scoring in 1960. UAPB retired his #42 in 2016.

Five former Razorbacks are in the 2021 class including women’s track and field head coach Lance Harter, women’s golfer Lisa Cornwell, Razorback football four-year letterman and assistant coach Tim Horton, men’s basketball star Joe Johnson and baseball all-conference standout Johnny Ray.

Copyright 2020 KAIT. All rights reserved.