14 Ark. counties under boil orders

Generic image / Tap water
Generic image / Tap water(HNN File)
Published: Dec. 30, 2022 at 3:04 PM CST|Updated: Dec. 30, 2022 at 6:48 PM CST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (KAIT/KATV) – Following a week of frozen temperatures and pipe issue state-wide, the Arkansas Department of Health has declared boil orders for 15 Arkansas counties due to poor pressure or quality issues.

According to content partner KATV in Little Rock, boil orders had been declared in Chicot, Phillips, Baxter, Faulkner, Cleburne, Fulton, Jefferson, Jackson, Calhoun, Crawford, Sebastian, Arkansas, Newton, Boone, and Miller counties since Monday.

To be more specific, these boil orders were issued for the following water systems in Northeast Arkansas; two have since been ended:

  • Swifton Waterworks in Jackson County - Pressure Loss
  • (ORDER ENDED ON 12/29) Mammoth Spring Waterworks in Fulton County - Main Break
  • Tumbling Shoals Water Association in Cleburne County
  • (ORDER ENDED ON 12/29) Mayflower Waterworks in Faulkner County - Pressure Loss
  • Big Flat Water Works in Baxter County - Inadequate Disinfection Levels

Common reasons for placing a boil order are usually due to a loss of pressure in the distribution system, loss of disinfection, and other unexpected water quality problems.

These orders will be lifted as each individual problem is fixed.

For more information on this story, visit katv.com.