Riverside wins 2023 2A Softball State Championship

The Lady Rebels celebrate after winning the 2A State Softball Championship.
The Lady Rebels celebrate after winning the 2A State Softball Championship.(Source: KAIT)
Published: May. 19, 2023 at 6:15 PM CDT|Updated: May. 19, 2023 at 7:03 PM CDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CONWAY, Ark. (KAIT) - Riverside made history on the diamond Friday afternoon.

The Lady Rebels beat Mansfield 1-0 to capture the 2A Softball State Championship. It’s their first state title in program history. Klaire Womack earned Finals MVP honors after a stellar pitching performance. The sophomore recorded 18 strikeouts in a complete game shutout. Womack allowed just 2 hits and 2 walks.

It was a classic pitcher’s duel heading into the top of the sixth. Annalee Qualls got on board for Riverside with a one-out single, at the time their second hit of the ballgame. A passed ball sent Qualls to second. She would move to third following a sacrifice bunt from Kaylee Cox.

Mackenzie Thomas had the swing of the game. The senior flared the full-count offering from Edwards just past the diving shortstop in left for the RBI single. Womack ran into trouble in the sixth after a one-out double. But the sophomore worked around it with two strikeouts.

The game saw 34 combined strikeouts and five total hits. Womack twirled 18, Alyson Edwards countered with 16 for Mansfield.

2023 Weekend of Champions

Riverside 1, Mansfield 0 (2A Softball Championship)

Woodlawn 3, Palestine-Wheatley 2 (2A Baseball Championship)

Booneville 4, Atkins 3 (3A Softball Championship)

Benton 7, Greene County Tech 0 (5A Softball Championship)

Harding Academy 10, Rivercrest 0 (3A Baseball Championship, 5 innings)

Little Rock Christian 4, Valley View 3 (5A Baseball Championship, 9 innings)

Har-Ber 5, Bentonville 1 (6A Baseball Championship)

Bryant 8, Cabot 5 (6A Softball Championship)

Lonoke 6, Ashdown 3 (4A Baseball Championship)

Gravette 5, Pea Ridge 1 (4A Softball Championship)

Taylor 9, Mount Ida 3 (1A Baseball Championship)

Taylor 12, Bradley 2 (1A Softball Championship)

Conway 3, Springdale 2 (6A Boys Soccer Championship)

Russellville 1, Lakeside 0 (5A Boys Soccer Championship)

Harrison 1, Pulaski Academy 0 (5A Girls Soccer Championship)

De Queen 5, Dardanelle 2 (4A Boys Soccer Championship)

Green Forest 4, Haas Hall 1 (3A Boys Soccer Championship)