Bush Declares Region 8 Counties Disaster Areas

January 7, 2003
Posted at: 5:56 p.m. CDT

JONESBORO, Ark. -- President Bush declared Tuesday that a major disaster exists in the State of Arkansas. With that declaration, help is now on the way for Region 8 residents affected by December's ice storm.

Arkansans will be eligible to receive federal aid and Craighead County Emergency Management Coordinator Jack Richardson says it will be a big help to residents. The money will be used for public assistance for the roads, utilities, and clean up.

"FEMA staff will come in and set up a field operating facility and their inspectors will go out and look at these areas and do project worksheets on them and come up with accurate statements," Richardson said.

Richardson says once FEMA arrives at a figure, the federal government will pay seventy-five percent of the cost of the damage.