Award winners announced at Student-Athlete Ceremony

Jonesboro (ASU) – The Arkansas State Department of Athletics held its annual Student-Athlete Senior Ring Ceremony at the ASU Student Union on Monday, recognizing its senior student-athletes for their accomplishments both athletically and academically during their time at ASU.

The event concluded with the announcement of the first annual Scott and Kay Dawson Ambassador Award and Terry Gwin Award winners, two of the most prestigious honors an ASU student-athlete can receive.

Women's golfer Cassie Huffer and football player Alex Carrington were named the recipients of the Terry Gwin Award, named after former ASU football player Terry Gwin and based on leadership, citizenship, scholarship and athletic performance.

The Scott and Kay Dawson Ambassador Award winners were baseball player Cody Pace, football player Corey Leonard and women's bowler Marissa Martinek. The criteria for the award includes but is not limited to excellence in service, attitude, integrity, loyalty, character and leadership.

ASU student-athletes nominated for Sun Belt Conference awards were honored at the ceremony as well.  Basketball player Lyndsay Schlup and Pace are nominated for the Sun Belt Conference Sporting Behavior Award.  Track and field performer Adam Jackson and volleyball player Mandy DeWalt are nominated for the SBC Postgraduate Scholarship Award.  Huffer and Carrington are nominated as SBC Student-Athletes of the Year as well.

Student-athletes from each sport were also recognized as institutional nominees for the Sporting Behavior Award, including Pace, Jeremy Thomas (men's basketball), Schlup, Carrington, Lloyd du Preeze (men's golf), Adrian Sportsman (women's golf), Lyndsay Patterson (women's soccer), Rone van Wyk (women's tennis), Bryant Hankton (men's outdoor T&F), Erica Naeger (women's outdoor T&F), Corwin Pace (men's indoor T&F), Caitlin Winey (women's indoor T&F), Michael Miller (men's cross country), Dawn L'Heureux (women's cross country) and Kelsie Hodges (volleyball).

The H.T. "Pug" Winters Degree Completion Award went to Taylor Clements (football/baseball) and Mary Geels (women's soccer), and the Billy Gene Davidson Award was presented to Staci Papageorge (women's track and field).

Forty six seniors were honored at the ceremony.  The 2009-10 ASU senior class of student-athletes includes Josh Arauco, Reggie Arnold, Courtney Blevins, Donald Boone, Heather Bowman, JeJuan Brown, Marcus Brown, Carrington, Clements, Kyle DeGrace, Josh DeMoney, DeWalt, Lindsey Dunn, Mary Edwards, Catherine Frappier, Giovanni Garcia, Geels, Trevor Gillott, Bryant Hankton, Greg Hardy, Huffer, Ross Humes, Adam Jackson, Ebonie Jefferson, J.T. Jordan, Jordan Kimball, Amy Koss, Mike Lance, Leonard, Carolyn Lewis, Martinek, Carlos Mattis, Khari Mays, Erin Mckenna, Jahbari McLennan, Michael Miller, Cordarious Mingo, Erin Neeley, Cody Pace, Dominic Padrta, Papageorge, Schlup, Kell Shenep, Greg Smith, Sportsman, David Starnes, Avery Taylor, Brandon Thompkins, Tyler Thompson, Evan Van Dolah, van Wyk, Stanley Wakwe, Daylan Walker, Keith Wilcots, Jesse Williams, Jeremy Willis and Winey.

"Tonight was a wonderful opportunity for us to celebrate the achievements of our senior student-athletes who have put a great deal of time and effort with their studies and their sport," said ASU Associate Director of Athletics for Student Services Julie Lessiter.  "We would like to wish them well as they move forward with their lives and careers."