ASU Women 3rd, ASU Men 4th, after Day 2 of SBC Outdoor Track Championships

Denton, TX (SBC) – The Middle Tennessee women and the Western Kentucky men hold the lead after day two of the 2010 Sun Belt Conference Outdoor with one day of competition left at Fouts Field on the campus of the University of North Texas.

Middle Tennessee's Brittany Cox set a new Sun Belt Championship record in the women's shot put with a 16.19 meter heave in wining that event.  In other field events completed Saturday Ashley Austin (North Texas) won the women's long jump, Stanley Gbagbeke (Middle Tennessee) won the men's long jump, Veronica Bryant (Troy) won the women's high jump and Myles Melancon (Louisiana-Lafayette) won the men's shot put.

North Texas' Jordan Wehr earned the decathlon gold after winning the long jump, high jump and 110 meter hurdles during the ten events.  In the heptathlon, South Alabama's Lindsay Schwartz won the Sun Belt championship backed by wins in the high jump and the 800 meters.

In the final events of the night WKU's Michelle Finn won the women's 3,000 meter steeplechase with teammate Patrick Cheptoek taking the championship in the men's 3,000 meter steeplechase.

Competition resumes Sunday morning at 10 a.m. with the hammer throw.  Running events begin at 6 p.m.

You can catch all the action from the 2010 Sun Belt Conference Outdoor Track and Field Championship live from Fouts Field in Denton, Texas. This is an SBC Extra exclusive that will be free for anyone to watch. Just fill out the required registration information on and get ready for excitement streamed live to your computer May 7, 8, and 9. SBC Extra is a broadband video channel that is the ultimate place for fans of Sun Belt member schools on the web! SBC Extra is powered by, the Official web site of the Sun Belt Conference.

Day Two Team Scores


1) Western Kentucky, 56

2) Louisiana-Lafayette, 39

3) South Alabama, 29

4) Arkansas State, 25

5) Middle Tennessee, 23

6) North Texas, 22

7) Louisiana-Monroe, 18

8) UALR, 16

9) Troy, 6


1) Middle Tennessee, 68

2) Western Kentucky, 59

3) Arkansas State, 45.50

4) Troy, 33

5) Louisiana-Monroe, 30

6) South Alabama, 29

7) North Texas, 21

8) Florida International, 12

9) Florida Atlantic, 7.50

10) UALR, 5

11) Louisiana-Lafayette, 2