Ark. Senate president names lottery panel member

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The president of the Arkansas Senate has named a Hot Springs man to replace a member of the state Lottery Commission who resigned this week. A news release Friday from the Senate said Sen. Bob Johnson, D-Bigelow, had appointed John C. "Smokey" Campbell III to the commission to fill out the term of Ray Thornton, who resigned effective Saturday.

The term will expire in 2015. Campbell, 66, originally from Helena, attended the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and was a member of Kappa fraternity. He has been a farmer and a banker in the Delta of east Arkansas, where he still maintains farming interests.

He is also a territorial sales manager for an agricultural chemical company. Campbell has served on the state Claims Commission. He now serves on the Arkansas Rural Development Commission, a position he will resign to become a lottery commissioner, the release said.

(Copyright 2010 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)