Five flight champions crowned at A-State Classic

From Arkansas State University

The 27th Annual A-State Classic concluded Sunday afternoon at the Hot Springs Country Club with the crowning of five different flight champions following the second and final round of play on the Arlington Course.

Fifty-seven teams made up of 114 players participated in the tournament hosted by the Arkansas State Athletics Department and sponsored by Liberty Bank. The two-day event began Saturday with the opening round, a reception, silent and live auction and dinner.

The team of Ralph Haymond and Bruce Baxley posted a combined 121 (60-61) to win the championship flight by five strokes. Arkansas Governor Mike Beebe and Rod Sweetman shot a combined 126 (65-61) to finish as the top flight's runner-up.

The winners of flights one, three and four were all determined by a score-card play off after at least two teams in each flight finished in a tie. The team of Lee Brun and Blake Rogers claimed the Flight One championship with a combined 133 (66-67), while Ed Way and Trent Brown won Flight Three with a 145 (73-72) and George Roberson and Ed Copeland won Flight Four with a 153 (78-75).

The team of M.J. Desbiens and Cassie Talley won Flight Two with a combined 134 (70-64).

The proceeds from the tournament go to the Red Wolf Club, which serves as the principal fundraising arm of the ASU Athletic Department.

The Red Wolf Club is the primary development arm of Arkansas State Athletics. For more than 50 years the club has provided educational opportunities to student-athletes, improved athletic facilities and enhanced donor experiences at athletic events. The Red Wolf Club can be contacted at 870-972-2401, or more information about the club can be found online at