'Living the Mission' awards honor St. Bernards employees

'Living the Mission' awards honor St. Bernards employees

JONESBORO, AR (KAIT) - A group of St. Bernards employees were honored with 'Living the Mission' awards at a special dinner during National Hospital Week.

The 50 employees were nominated by their peers for going above and beyond in delivering exceptional care and services, according to a news release from the hospital.

The honorees were recognized for living the formal mission of St. Bernards every day "providing Christ-like healing to the community through education, treatment and health services."

Four were recognized with special honors. Charlie Holman, a respiratory therapist of Paragould, received the Heart of Service Award; Beth Boyd, a nurse from Jonesboro, was named Preceptor of the Year; Lacinda Rice, a nurse from Pocahontas, was named Nurse of the Year; and Laconcha Riley, a patient care tech from Cherry Valley, was named Patient Care Tech of the Year.

The honorees include 29 staff members who provide direct patient care and 21 who serve in support areas. Twenty-eight are from Jonesboro; six are from Paragould; four, Trumann; three, Pocahontas; two, Walnut Ridge; and one each from Bald Knob, Bono, Caraway, Cherry Valley, Harrisburg, Leachville and Sedgwick.

Jonesboro residents include Patricia Abraham, dialysis; Sara Bayird, continuum of care; Sarah Beth Boyd, 4 East; Christy Breeding, 5 East; Crystal Burris, staff support; Sonny Conley, nutrition services; Meredith Cook, marketing; Jason Cottingham, emergency department; Daniel Engelken, environmental services; Becky Ewart, Total Life Healthcare; Jennie Fleeman, home health; Brooke Green, pharmacy;  James Hoffman, engineering; Britney Johnson, diagnostic ultrasound; Christina Johnson, 4 East; Dana Kennedy, Senior Health Clinic; Roger Lamkin, behavioral health engineering; Dolores Martinez, admissions; Joyce McCann, utilization management; Dorothy Morris, 2 East; Patricia Porter, emergency department; Angela Pugsley, Total Life Healthcare; Zachary Tyler Boone, behavioral health; Lela Smith who works in dialysis; John Parker, reference lab; Stephanie Williams, continuum of care; Kelly Welch, neonatal intensive care unit; and Rita Wilson, administration;

The six Paragould residents are Karla Davis, education; Latasha Herren, 1 East; Charlie Holman, respiratory therapy; Megan Sheeks, intensive care; Jennifer Strickland, behavioral health; and Daniel Vaughn, 3 North.

The four Trumann residents include Irma Bentley, laboratory; Lindsey Campbell, 2 Main; Melody Kent, 3 East; and Robin Wright, home health

The three residents are from Pocahontas are Laura McGinnis, vascular access; Susan Glasgow, intensive care and Lacinda Rice, 1 Main

Walnut Ridge residents are Samantha Davis, one day surgery; and April Dean, surgery.

Others listed by hometown include the following:

  • Bald Knob – Brently Barger, staff support.
  • Bono – Emily Moore, hospice.
  • Caraway – Jack Tucker, outpatient infusion.
  • Cherry Valley – Concha Riley, 3 East.
  • Harrisburg – Sharon Neugebauer – central transportation.
  • Leachville – Cristin Holt, 2 East.
  • Sedgwick – Mica Houston, utilization management.

Copyright 2016 KAIT. All rights reserved.

Watch Region 8 News On Demand: On your Desktop | On your Mobile device

Region 8 News App - Install or update on your: iPhone | Android