Craighead County Seventh to Ban Burning

Craighead County is the latest of seven counties in Arkansas to enact burn bans due to dry conditions across the area.  The ban effectively puts a halt to any burning across the county including farm fields.

xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" / 

‘I am glad the judge enacted the ban.’ East Craighead County Deputy Sheriff Dewaine Malone says.  It was something really needed right now with these dry conditions.  Malone says dangerous fires are something they have really been dealing with lately.  He met K8News at the scene of a house fire.  The official report says the cause of the fire was probably caused by a leaf or trash fire.


Burn bans are not usually issued in fall and winter months due to the area usually being much cooler and damp, but this year has seen unusually warm days and very dry conditions.  When mixed with high winds, these conditions are perfect for dangerous fires.


You can be fined one hundred and sixty dollars if you are found to be breaking the new ban.

The other arkansas counties to ban burning are Clay, Greene, Craighead, Poinsett, Jackson, Cleburne, Stone, Perry, Polk, Hempstead, Ashley, and Chicot.