Three Region 8 Schools Classified as Fiscally Distressed

JUNE 12, 2006 - Posted at 3:10 p.m. CST

LITTLE ROCK, AR - The state Education Board has classified four school districts, including three in Region 8, as fiscally distressed.

The districts include Cross County, Hughes (St. Francis Co.), and Turrell (Crittenden Co.) in Region 8, as well as Omaha.

The board says the districts face negative fund balances and shrinking enrollments.

If the districts don't improve, they could be taken over by the state.

In April, the four districts were notified that they'd be identified as fiscally distressed and were given 30 days to appeal the classification.  None of them appealed.

Now, the districts have ten days to present a fiscal distress plan to the state.

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)