Federal Disaster Declared for Arkansas' Damaged Crops

LITTLE ROCK, AR - Governor Mike Beebe received word last night that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has granted his request for a disaster declaration for crop damage caused by the late-season freeze of April 7 and 8.  The declaration formally covers 68 Arkansas counties, but the remaining seven are also eligible because they are contiguous to included counties.

Beebe personally delivered the request to Agriculture Secretary Mike Johanns on May 1.

The declaration immediately qualifies affected farmers for low-interest emergency loans from the USDA.  Applicants have eight months to apply for the loans.  The USDA's Farm Services Agency will consider the extent of losses, repayment ability and available financial security when reviewing loan applicants.